Working as a copywriter has taught me a lot in picking errors and things for improvements. I’m no way near being a perfectionist, but my profession requires me to be a nitpicker, and I have to admit that I still fail at that. Sometimes, at my office, the graphic designers moan out of desperation for my comments. “Why do you love commenting a lot?”. No, I don’t enjoy criticising other people. I just want to point out things we can do to improve before sending anything to clients. Still, I’m no way a perfectionist. My stuff still has a lot of flaws teehehhee, and I’m working on my flaws.

But recently, I have seen that my habit of raising comments and feedbacks has some good returns back to me instead of the frowns or moaning!!! Days ago, I sent my email to Skillshare, an online global learning community,to raise my comments on how difficult for me to load the new version of their site. And the web layout seemed to be a little bit more distracting than the older version. This is my professional talk after time of working with the user interface and web content. I just sent them the email just on a whim, expecting nothing back as I know that they would say thank you for your feedbacks or ignore my email. Instead, I received a very friendly, down-to-earth and sincere email from their staff –Megan, thanking me for the feedbacks and explaining their process of working on the lag. And she sent me a small token, which is one free month to be added to me premium membership. Whooho!!!! One month membership of 9.9$ is not such a big deal to me, but I’m happy to receive a gift for my feedbacks. Not the usual impersonal, corporate emails “Thank you for your feedback bla bla, we will come back to you soon” and with no follow-up emails. I’m happy about the personal touch from Skillshare, the website that I have used a lot in recent months.

I normally use Skillshare for learning creative writing, and graphic design. I attended the courses in graphic design just for knowledge only, not for hard-core techniques. I just wanted to understand better about the graphic design, so I can discuss with the graphic designers in my work more easily. So they can’t fool me !!:D I can’t draw, but I still can talk, babe!! For creative writing, I joined courses in the creative nonfiction writing, hosted by Susan Orlean (the staff writer of The New Yorker magazine). The course was extremely helpful for me, and I loved Susan’s lecture. I did attend one writing course before, as my company paid me to learn that course. However, that $350 Australian Writing course was not as good as this $9.9 course by Susan Orlean. Well, just my personal opinion, okay? Because everyone has different style of learning and understanding, I found myself helpless with audio-only lectures like the ones in the Australian Writing course. I prefer illustrative lectures, where the lecturers talk and illustrate ideas in compelling ways. It’s like I sucks at audiobooks. I would rather sit with the hundreds-page books doing nothing else than driving with 2-hours audio book. I would either crash into the lightpoles or remember nothing from the audio.

Today is not a happy day at work for me, but the email did really lighten up my afternoon (after a sleepy heavy lunch~ ~).Anyway, it’s my time for me to make a hot cup of coffee, and back to work.

Happy Thursday, Everyone!

(It’s ironic to see the feature image and the text together lolz)

